Picture
I love to cook.  I have been cooking for my family and my friends since I was about 12.  Of course, my dishes have gotten vastly more complex since the days where my parents were still a little nervous that I would burn the house down.  (As a side note:  I have come close to doing so recently with my memory lapses.  My husband now double checks that the burners are off.  This is always a good suggestion if you suffer from brain fog.)  However, though I want to make fun, yummy, and allergy-free meals, the EDS pain can interfere with my plans.  Over the past few years, I have come across some kitchen implements that I have found make working in the kitchen much, much easier, whether for executing a complicated recipe or for making a quick, no-fuss dinner.  In no particular order:


  • Stand mixer.  I have a KitchenAid stand mixer (a gift from my mom and sister), and I can definitively say it is worth the price.  Anything I would otherwise have to stir--into the mixer it goes.  The only downside is that it takes up a ton of counter space, so if you have to store it in a cabinet, be prepared to need a helping hand to get it out and in place on the counter.  
  • Microwavable steamer pot.  Another gift from my mom.  Mine is from Pampered Chef (I think my mom felt she had to buy something at a party).  It is fantastic for steaming veggies and potatoes.  You can make a side dish in minutes or prep something for the oven so it takes much less time to roast.
  • Crock Pot.  The old standby.  I love slow-cooker recipes.  I make a lot of soups and stews in mine.  I also make turkey, chicken, casseroles, barbecue, etc.  If you are making meat (e.g., a turkey tenderloin), make sure you put vegetables and/or fruit in with it to keep things moist and flavorful while cooking.
  • Sharp knives.  You hear about the virtues of these on all the cooking shows, but it really is true.  It takes much less wrist energy to chop (and there's much less of a chance of cutting yourself) with a good, sharp knife.
  • Large wok pan.  You can make just about anything in this pan and the high sides prevent spills.  I do "clean out the refrigerator" stir fry nights with some shrimp and, well, whatever happens to be in the fridge.

Do you have any suggestions for this list?  If so, please add them in the comment 




Leave a Reply.