Picture
It doesn't seem quite fair that those of us with EDS should also be able to get the flu, bronchitis, chest colds, and the like.  I am coming down with one of the above currently, and am trying with all means possible not to cough.  I have my supply of cough suppressant, cough drops, teas, etc.  Why all coughing avoidance, you ask?  Like many EDSers, I have ribs that have trouble staying in place normally, and awful costochodritis.  Every time I have a coughing fit, a rib or three seems to sublux/dislocate.  Those of you who have felt this know the pain, and also know that you don't want to press on things too much for fear of making the swelling of costochondritis worse.  And, I might be the only one, but I also am afraid that one day I am going to press a rib into my lung or something crazy like that.  That would be my kind of luck.  Anyways, do you have any surefire cough remedies?  What do you do when you have a cough to keep your ribs where they should be?  Let us know in the comments!




Leave a Reply.